Getting Nervous

I have a lot of baking to do in the next week and a half!

Monday is Iron Cupcake, so Sunday afternoon and evening will be spent baking and decorating 12 dozen mini cupcakes!

Tuesday evening I will be baking a few cupcakes to take to my friend when I go to visit her new baby on Wednesday.

Saturday I am baking 10 dozen (full size) cupcakes for the wedding of two friends. This will be started on Thursday evening. I’m nervous about this because, even though the flavors are going to be simple, I have no idea about the logistics of baking 10 dozen cupcakes! I feel like it won’t be that hard, but a couple of weeks ago I baked 5 dozen, and it took me well over 8 hours to do all the baking and decorating.

The decorating on those 5 dozen, however, was a little more complicated. But cute! Check these out:

Fortunately I just have to make these 10 dozen look pretty. Swirly frosting, maybe some sugar pearls, but nothing as intense as marzipan ladybugs!

Then, of course, after the cupcakes are done I have to find the energy to party at the wedding! I hope I can do that, because it is sure to be a fun tonight.

I’m nervous because this is a lot of baking! I was hoping to spend most of the week prepping. Cleaning my kitchen, getting all my supplies purchased and in order and ready to go. Now I’ll have to do that a little quicker than planned. I will post pictures when it’s all done. And maybe of the tornado that sweeps through my kitchen.

In other news, David and I are trying to plan our wedding. BUT we’re so confused by all the options! Right now we’re not even sure WHERE we want to get married- locally, or in Las Vegas.

Las Vegas sounds like FUN, and it would combine a honeymoon into one trip. We’d get married on a Friday night, and then spend the weekend in a nice suite. It wouldn’t be eloping, because we would still be inviting a lot of people to join us. But of course, some people won’t, because it is expensive.

That means the biggest pro of the in-town option is that all our family and friends could be there. We’d have a party back in town if we got married in Vegas, but it wouldn’t be the same. Sure, my parents and a few friends would join us in Vegas, but what about people like my grandparents? Vegas hold no particular appeal to them and the airfare would put a huge burden on them. So they wouldn’t be there. Can I handle that? I’m not sure. What about aunts and uncles that have watched me grow up? Will I just ditch them? What about friends who would LOVE to come, but really can’t afford it with their student loans and their rent payments? Is it fair to ask them to come, knowing that it will set them back, or they won’t be able to?

Just because Vegas is fun?

Baking 10 dozen cupcakes is going to be much easier than planning this wedding.

6 Responses to “Getting Nervous”

  1. thoughtsappear Says:

    Those cupcakes look so cute…and tasty!

  2. MSOJ Says:

    Hey, you’re up to two entries in a year!

    Hooray for Tasha Mort!

  3. MSOJ Says:

    MSOJ

    Still your loyal follower

  4. MSOJ Says:

    tap tap tap… hurry home!!

  5. MSOJ Says:

    me again… (who else anymore?)

    SO I found this video…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KicIJ1-l-jY

    and it is GREAT, EXCEPT for whoever produced it made it GO TOO FAST…

    It took a LONG time for me to be able to focus and see if the little sister still had her camera magic… once it got to the last two minutes, it was clear that the little sis still has a “stage presence” about her… but I sorta prefer her out in your old yard with a bunch of leaves (at a younger age, too, with less… hmmmmmm… ‘independent personality of her own’… which emphasizes her ham-in-front-of-the-camera image)

    Eh, but who cares what I think…

    (a good video to watch for anyone who lands here wishing for something current)

  6. MSOJ Says:

    er, which WOULD emphasize her ham-in-front-of-the-camera reputation)

    LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

