They’re here!

Has anyone seen the movie Poltergeist? I watched it for a second time last night and it still scared the crap out of me. The special effects are a little laughable (though VERY good for 1982!) but the movie is just so creepy. And just when you think it’s over, IT’S NOT! Damn clowns. And pools.

I used to have Halloween movie parties when I was in high school. I’d have a bunch of my friends over and we’d watch scary movies. I even once had a half-Halloween party in April where we watched spoofs of scary movies. Every time my mom and I went to Blockbuster for these parties she would tell me to rent Poltergeist but I always refused. It was rated PG! How scary could it be?

Finally I gave in and rented it. I screamed my head off. How was this movie rated PG?! Watching it last night, I wondered the same thing. Back then, the PG-13 rating didn’t exist. I read that the filmmakers lobbied for a PG rating instead of the R rating it was given originally. But who did Steven Spielberg blow at the MPAA to get a PG rating?

Needless to say, I thanked my mom for the reccommendation.

At another Halloween party we watched the movie Dahmer. We thought it’d be scary since, you know, we lived in Milwaukee. (Well, Tosa, but still…) It was gross and weird and a little boring. I love horror movies. But I probably wouldn’t reccommend that one.

On a related note, did anyone ever play the game Atmosfear??? That’s a blast from my past. My friends and I used to play it all the time. It was a board game that had a video that you played along to. It was so awesome. I wonder if I could find it again… Maybe I’ll just have to buy a new one. The new version has a DVD!! Fancy!! I hope it’s not sucky.

2 Responses to “They’re here!”

  1. Sierra Says:

    Ok. Poltergeist? PG???? Yah right! I HATE that movie. Hate. (well, all scary movies). I have actually seen a few of the Poltergeist movies, but the one with the girl that jumps out of the mirror when the guy has his back to it? yeah, I STILL cannot turn my back to a mirror in fear of being attacked. Irrational? Yes.

  2. milwaukeebuckeye Says:

    Hi from another blogger!

    I cannot watch scary movies. At all. Ever. I’m a wuss.

Leave a Reply

