More Than Meets The Eye

I saw Transformers on Monday evening. Um… What? Maybe it’s just that I missed the boat on watching/playing with Transformers when I was young, but WOW I thought it was a bad movie.

There were some redeeming qualities, but the bad parts were SO bad. Like the writing…

Optimus Prime: With the Allspark gone, we cannot return life to our planet. And fate has yielded its reward: a new world to call home. We live among its people now, hiding in plain sight, but watching over them in secret, waiting, protecting. I have witnessed their capacity for courage, and though we are worlds apart, like us, there’s more to them than meets the eye. I am Optimus Prime, and I send this message to any surviving Autobots taking refuge among the stars: we are here, we are waiting.

and

Ironhide: [brandishing large cannons] Parents are irritating… Can I take ’em out?
Optimus Prime: Ironhide, you know we don’t harm humans! What’s with you?
Ironhide: I know, I’m just saying we could… it’s an option…

LAME. I think I maybe would have liked it if it were just an hour and a half or so. But two and a half hours?! Wow. I know a lot of people liked it, so maybe I was just not enough of an 80’s child to truly appreciate it. Even though my best friend was a boy, I don’t remember ever playing with Transformers. I must have lived a sad life.

One Response to “More Than Meets The Eye”

  1. Sierra Says:

    Yeah, I fell asleep in the theater when we went to see Transformers. That’s how good I thought it was. I NEVER fall asleep at theaters (I fall asleep watching movies at home all of the time). I think this was the only time I have…

Leave a Reply

