Tonight, tonight, there’s only you tonight!

Tonight I am going to see a play downtown at the Marcus Center for the performing arts. I am so excited because it’s one I’ve been wanting to see for a while and didn’t get a chance to see in New York. The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. David and I have tickets and I think we’re both just about dying for it to be 7:30 already.

Of course, this isn’t as exciting as what we plan to see in the beginning of 2008… The Lion King! It’s coming to the Milwaukee Theatre for a month! This is an amazing show. I saw it close to eight years ago in Toronto on a school trip. I thought I was too cool for it. I also hated our seats… the FARTHEST, HIGHEST seats from the stage. Within 5 or 10 seconds of it starting, I was totally blown away. It is one of the most unbelievable shows I have ever seen. The spectacle of it is amazing and the addition of African songs and chants makes your skin tingle.

The Marcus’s Broadway season is really great this year. Better than any year I remember. I wish I would have been able to buy season tickets, but alas, I am poor.

Avenue Qcomes in at the end of February. If you haven’t seen this show, I would highly recommend it. I saw it in New York (the night David popped the question!) and laughed so hard I thought I would die. It is NOT child appropriate, even though it involves puppets. Let’s just say that the show involves the character of Gary Coleman singing a song titled “You Can Be As Loud As the Hell You Want (When You’re Making Love)”. If that’s not enough to convince you, there is full frontal puppet nudity. Even though we’ve already seen this show, we will be putting up the money to see it again. It’s that good.

Finally, at the end of April, comes Spamalot. Created by the dudes from Monty Python, based on their “Holy Grail” movie. I am super excited to see this one as well. I know it won’t be as awesome as when it had the original Broadway cast, but it’s a funny show and I’m sure it didn’t win the Tony for nothing.

If you want to see just ONE show, see the Lion King. I can’t imagine anyone coming out of that disappointed.

Leave a Reply

