Candy Everywhere

There is candy everywhere in the office today. Someone filled a communal candy dish with full sized candy bars and cookies and bags of M&M’s. Someone else has Twizzlers sitting on her desk. It feels like everyone is forcing it down my throat! I caved and had a Snickers, because that has nuts, which have protein, right…?

I am twitching in my chair because the sugary sweetness is getting to me and making me want MORE. Rather than eat more, I thought I’d write about wanting it and how I am avoiding further temptation.

In other news, I tried on wedding dresses yesterday! Nevermind the fact that I have NOTHING planned (but tons of ideas) and don’t even have an official date. But I played dress up for an hour at Cloud 9 Bridalin Gurnee, IL. A little far, but they talked me into it at the Wedding Expo I went to over the weekend. They were so nice and totally didn’t care that I had nothing planned. They weren’t evil tag rippers and had dresses in bigger sizes to try on. And they were very pretty!

Wow wedding dresses are major pieces of equipment. I felt like I was wearing a tent at first, with all the layers and the long trains and the crinoline. But I got used to it. Now I can’t wait to go somewhere with my girls- Mom, sisters, or future-sister-in-law. Or anyone else that wants to go.

I’m bad- I totally showed David the pictures. My excuse was that no one else came with me. And I didn’t fall head-over-heels in love with any of the dresses. He was actually excited to see me in these pretty dresses!

Here are some of my favorites:
 
I don’t remember the designer of this one, but I love, love, love lace. And sparkles!

 
This was a beautiful “latte” color and wrapped in sheer tulle and beading. I loved the lacy look and was surprised by how much I liked the mermaid style. Although I think I need to lose a couple of tens of pounds before I would consider going with this style.


This one was totally interesting. I didn’t think it would be my style at all, but I had seen it in a magazine and wanted to try it. I liked it more than I thought I would. It has a corset back and a girly train and lots of glitter, but I kind of liked the modern stripes. Imagine how stunning it would be on someone tall and thin!

So that was my superfun afternoon!

8 Responses to “Candy Everywhere”

  1. Sara Says:

    Great job avoiding the candy! That’s a really hard thing to do.

    And yay for trying on wedding dresses! I LOVE the first one!

  2. Sierra Says:

    Good for you!

    Trying on dresses is fun, isn’t it? I love that first one (I think I tried something similar and so badly wanted it to look good and I looked like crap)! I totally showed Matt all of the dresses I tried on too (except the one I ended up picking).

  3. theartofengineering Says:

    Good job refusing the candy.

    I think the first one looks great on you. The last one was one of my top choices but I was afraid it would make me look taller than I am. Normally, that wouldn’t be a bad thing I know but I’m already 6″ taller than my husband (an most of the groomsman for that matter) so I didn’t want to look like a giant. But I love the simple lines of it.

    Oh, and I totally showed Jeremy pictures of me in all the dress including the one I bought. He goes with me pretty much every time I go shopping. I need his opinion before I make a big purchase.

  4. tashamort Says:

    Thanks ladies! I had so much fun trying them on. I can’t wait to go with some friends/family so we can all SQUEEEEE over them together. My little sis comes home for spring break in March, so I’ll probably be trying more on then.

    I think I’ll be like you, Sierra, and show him pictures occasionally, but not the one I pick. However, like you Robin, I am BAD at making big decisions like this without his opinion. Although judging from his reaction, he’ll love whatever I wear.

  5. WD Says:

    OMFG, I love the first one on you! LOVE-LOVE-LOVE IT!!! I need more exclamation points to get the point across!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. MK Says:

    Look at our sweet little Trashy. Very cool.

  7. Erin Says:

    Love the pics. 🙂 I’m also a big fan of the first dress!

    And it drives me crazy when people bring candy to the office – it’s hard enough to resist food when it’s NOT staring you in the face all day!

    Oh, and great job on the four pounds lost!!

  8. Bria Says:

    I really like the second dress.. personally… but thats just me… oh ps.. 365… where are they…..

    HUGGLES LEIA!!!

Leave a Reply

