I’ll Give You a Canadian Goose

 David cooked last night.

This isn’t a strange occurrence as he actually makes us dinner most nights. I hardly ever touch a pot or pan unless it is to bake.

I was feeling kind of down yesterday and it was made worse by the fact that my body was really sore. So he said he would make a yummy comfort food dinner. We’re both a little tight for money this week, so I figured it would be something along the lines of a pasta with one of his delicious wine/garlic/butter sauces.

I took my little sister and her friend sledding (pictures/video to come once she uploads them to Youtube) and came home tired and even more sore. As soon as I reached the top of the steps, I smelled something delicious.

He made a whole beef tenderloin. And risotto. A giant pot full of creamy, delicious risotto. Holy dear God. It smelled amazing. And looked as good as risotto can possibly look. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. He added sauteed mushrooms and spinach and then a whole lot of Italian cheese.

Hold me. My knees are weak.

He told me he spent about $40 (!!!) on all the food. But that number seems to matter much less as we have 2 or 3 nights worth of meat leftover and probably twice that for the risotto. I would estimate that at around $10 per meal for the next 3 or 4 days. Not too bad for something so delicious!

It brought back memories of Christmas 2006 when his family came over for dinner. He and his sister put on quite a cooking show. And David and I reaped the leftover benefits. We had dinner ready for over a week! I have clear, fond memories of sitting on our bed, playing our new-to-us Game Cube (Mario Kart and Mario Party) with a TV tray in front of us stacked with openfaced sandwiches of risotto and tenderloin on his dad’s freshly baked bread.

Normally, for a meal this well prepared, we’d clean off our little-used dining room table and eat there. In the idea of comfort, however, we curled up on the couch and ate at the coffee table while watching the movie Failure To Launch, a favorite of ours when it comes to silly romance.

I’m feeling much better today, and I definitely credit it to David’s amazing risotto (and his first time cooking it, no less!)

Speaking of romance, we saw Atonement on Saturday. Oh WOW. What a story! I fell in love with the characters and the story so completely. It’s so powerful and every time I think about it, I’m discovering new themes and messages. I am still thinking about the sympathy I still feel for each character, and the heartbreak. It’s amazing how much you can truly hurt the people you love and who love you.

Aside from the story, the look and feel of the movie is completely gorgeous. The colors, the lighting, the music, it’s all top notch in my opinion. There is a haunting one-note theme and often a typewriter provides the percussion. One of my favorite shots was when Robbie hands over a letter to Briony… the letter is glowing in the sun.

The film does a cool thing with the timeline. There are multiple times when an event happens and all of a sudden it rewinds to show another view on what actually happened. I thought it was so creative. I often have trouble following timelines like this, but only felt a little lost towards the end after multiple sub-headings like “6 months earlier… 3 weeks earlier…” but it is all explained in the end and I wasn’t left with any major confusion. Just tears.

The acting is superb, but the story is the star. Of course this is now my favorite for the Best Picture Oscar. However, David and I like to see all the nominees before the awards, so I have my work cut out for me.

One Response to “I’ll Give You a Canadian Goose”

  1. MK Says:

    One word: JUNO

Leave a Reply

