Summer Lovin’

Whoa Natasha, you say. Just because it’s 40 degrees today, does not make it summer. No, it does not, but in 17 days it will be summer for me. Oh, did you hear I’m going to Thailand?

Anyway, the latest news is the heat. I don’t know how I’m going to go from freezing temperatures to 90 degrees in 24 hours.

Seriously. Look at today’s weather in Bangkok:

Look at that humidity level! Crazy considering the temperature here will drop to ZERO overnight. I can’t even fathom 90 degrees.

Yesterday at lunch, rather than working out, I went shopping at Target. They have some summer stuff out already. Normally I roll my eyes at this, but in this instance it’s helping me!

I’ve been doing a lot of research on how to dress in Thailand. On the one hand, it’s incredibly hot and humid. On the other hand, they are a very polite, conservative country. Things like tank tops are shorts are not allowed in temples and can be frowned on in the streets. I’ve been on a quest for light shirts and some long skirts and light pants. This is difficult to find!

I spent about $100 at Target, but I will return some stuff. It’s hard to know whether things will actually keep me covered but cool when there’s still snow on the ground here. Perhaps I’ll conduct some tests with a steamy bathroom and a blowdryer? I actually found two cotton 3/4 sleeve button down shirts. I figure I can carry those with me and throw them on over a tank top when I need to be a little more modest.

After work, I met my mom at Boston Store for a little more shopping. I was hoping to find a long skirt since I’ve heard that recommended for women in Thailand. My mom works at Boston Store and lets me partake in her sweet discount (25%!!).

My mom has turned into a killer bargain shopper. One might think with her discount, she’ll buy whatever she wants. Nope. She shops sale racks and yellow dot clearance like a pro. She found me a GIANT pile of clothes to try on. All light fabrics and short sleeves. All yellow dot. Summery stuff! On clearance! I am amazed at her skills.

I left with FOUR skirts (two long, light ones for walking around, one shorter denim for nightclubbing, one really thin one to pull on at the beach), a brown Cotton crew-neck t-shirt, a white button down short-sleeved blouse, a white short-sleeved tie-back shirt, a light blue polo shirt, and a light tank top. And maybe another shirt that I’ve forgotten about. All for $91.

I did a rough estimate based on the actual price tags. Some of that was nice stuff! Karen Kane, Calvin Klein, Nine West. That pile of clothing is worth about $400. !!!!!!!

I love my mom, and her discount.

So now I have to decide what to take with me. I think I’m going to take everything from Boston Store, but I won’t take the tags off until I wear it. That way if there’s something I don’t wear over there, I’m only out the suitcase space and I can return it when I come home. I’m keeping a long sleeved shirt, a pair of pants, and a pair of shorts from Target. I’ll be returning about $50 worth of stuff.

A new summer wardrobe for about $150? I can handle that! Most of it is “polite” and modest enough to wear to Thailand while touring temples and the Grand Palace. But it’s definitely cute enough to wear back home this summer.

As our temperatures drop rapidly throughout the day here, I will just look at this 10-day Bangkok forecast:

Weather

5 Responses to “Summer Lovin’”

  1. Sara Says:

    It is one of the strangest feelings. I went to Florida in December. When I left here in the morning it was 4 degrees. When I landed in Fort Lauderdale it was 91. I wanted to strip immediately – make sure you layer on the flight so you can strip without being arrested.

    I’m SO jealous of your trip. I’ve never been off the continent. I can’t wait to see pictures!

    And yay for new clothes!

  2. Sierra Says:

    Wow, good job on the bargains!

    I’m super jealous of your trip. It will be amazing!

  3. tashamort Says:

    I should have internet access from the place I’m staying, so I plan to update my blog or at least put pictures up every night. I’ve never been off the continent either, so I’m so excited and nervous!

    I have a layover in Tokyo. Here’s a secret: I am almost as excited about finding a sushi place in the airport and eating sushi in Japan as I am about spending a week in Bangkok.

  4. MK Says:

    Phuckit

  5. Erin Says:

    LUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKY!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

