A Better Outlook

While laying in bed last night, freaking out, David reminded me of a few things. And I’m trying to make those thoughts block out all the scary ones.

Yes, I’m nervous and scared, but if I let that consume me, I won’t be able to enjoy myself. And what’s the point of 21 hours on a plane and more than a day of total travel time if I’m not going to have fun?

I have been longing for adventure my entire life. I’ve had small adventures and I’ve done exciting things in my life (like a week wandering New York City! A nearly spur-of-the-moment trip with friends to Disney World!) but I have always wanted to go somewhere exotic and exciting and different.

“I want adventure in the great wide somewhere, I want it more than I can tell.” That is one of my favorite lyrics from Beauty and the Beast, one of my favorite movies. Even when I was young, when it first came out, I loved that line and that whole little song reprise Belle sings while running through the field.

Here’s my chance!! Here’s my chance for a real life adventure. Going somewhere unfamiliar. Taking a risk. Experiencing a new culture. On the other side of the Earth. That’s major.

And I’ve officially decided that it is majorly awesome.

In 48 hours I will have arrived in the Detroit airport, and be waiting to board the plane that will take me to Tokyo, and then on to Bangkok. I can barely sit still.

3 Responses to “A Better Outlook”

  1. Erin Says:

    I love that you quoted a Beauty and the Beast song. 🙂

    If I don’t get to tell you again, have a FABULOUS, WONDERFUL, SAFE trip!! Can’t wait to hear about it!!

  2. Sierra Says:

    You girls and your Beauty and the Beast.

  3. tashamort Says:

    I don’t think I’ll ever get enough of Beauty and the Beast 🙂

    Have I mentioned I played Belle in a Children’s Theater version of the story in High School? It was one of the best things EVER!

    And thanks for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

