Proud Lady

I did some good things yesterday.

I remembered to grab our reusable shopping bags for our grocery trip after work. I’ve had these bags for a while, but they haven’t become a good habit yet. And then when I get to the store I feel so bad for forgetting them. I have this bag (but in red):

I love it. It folds up into a tiny little pouch. It’s lightweight and strong. And now I see they have a deal on the website, 4 bags for the price of 3. Hmm, I may have to consider buying a few more. Then I could ALWAYS have a couple in the car, just in case.

We saved $12 on groceries because we were careful about going through the sale paper and planning our meals to fit. We spent about $40. Not bad for enough food to make delicious meals all week. Go us!

I was mostly in charge of dinner last night. David usually, almost always cooks. I help out, of course, but he spends a lot more time in the kitchen than I do. I decided I wanted to attempt a homemade meaty spaghetti sauce. I’m a nervous cook because I’m afraid things won’t turn out. But this was seriously EASY! And delicious. David is usually not a huge fan of red sauces with pasta (weird, I know) but he ate this and took leftovers in for lunch. So it had to be good! I definitely want to try it again soon. I think I’d like to play with the flavors, maybe add more garlic (David will probably hump my leg after reading this. He’s a garlic junkie.)

David made a delicious spinach salad with avocado slices, tomato, crumbled bacon, a homemade vinaigrette, and a poached egg! It was his first time trying to poach an egg and it turned out pretty well. That boy made a salad tasty enough to rival my pasta sauce.

We used an organic whole wheat angel hair pasta. It was really good. Sure, it’s $2 rather than the $1 or less for bargain brands, but that’s really not much of a difference. I think it might be worth it.

I learned that it’s probably pretty difficult to mess up pasta sauce. It really is as easy as it seems. Here’s what I did:

Basic Meat Spaghetti Sauce
1lb ground beef (I used ground chuck, but something leaner might work even better)
1/4 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 small can sliced mushrooms
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 14.5 oz can stewed tomatoes
1 6 oz can tomato paste
Salt, Pepper, dried oregano, dried basil

Brown the ground beef over medium high heat in a medium saucepan with the onions and garlic. Drain off any excess grease. Stir in mushrooms. Pour in canned tomatoes and paste and stir. Season. I started with a teaspoon of salt and pepper and about a tablespoon of oregano and basil. I also added another clove of crushed garlic and some garlic powder. Stir together and allow to come to a boil. Then lower the heat and let it simmer for about an hour. I tasted it halfway through and added another generous pinch of oregano and basil. I also added a shot or two of vodka. White wine would work well too. I think I added too little to make much of a difference. I let it simmer for only 45 minutes, stirring very occasionally, and it tasted good and was very thick and chunky and meaty. I think the only way to really mess this up would be to add a cup of salt or let it burn somehow.

I’d like to try it again without the meat and add more veggies. Like roated eggplant. YUM!

2 Responses to “Proud Lady”

  1. cheaplikeme Says:

    Good for you! I keep some of those bags in my purse (hooray for “tote” purses … but they are so little they even fit in a jacket pocket). You can use them everywhere – Target, the mall, thrift stores, wherever you shop – prettier, easier, and greener than giveaway/throwaway bags.

  2. Erin Says:

    Good job on the bags!! I’m getting a lot better about remembering to bring mine to the store. It just took a little while!

Leave a Reply

