Just An Entry

Twelve days into my diet, and I’m sticking to it! Wednesday will be the official end of my two-week Phase One. I’m so proud of myself! I really followed it closely. I had tiny bits of carbs (mostly sushi-roll related) a couple of times, but it probably was the equivalent of a tiny handful.

The biggest accomplishment, is I haven’t had any booze. I’m not a heavy drinker by any standard, but I do like to kick back with a micro-brew or a fruity fun drink when I hit the weekend. I was able to avoid going out to bars with friends, mostly because I was too busy.

I think I will continue following Phase One until I leave for Arizona (ON SUNDAY!!!!) so that I can allow myself a little leeway while I’m on vacation. I don’t plan on giving up the diet, but I will allow myself a couple small splurges. After all, it’s a vacation!

It will be HOT, so I’m sure I’ll have some ice cream at some point. I might be limited on what my breakfast options are (and I doubt I can get my usual egg muffin and V-8) so I will try to stick with fruit at the very least. I resisted chocolate cake at work today, I’m sure I can resist croissants. I will probably be eating out a lot. I will try to stick with South Beach foods, like salads and drinks like iced tea. I know we’ll be going outat least once, so I will allow myself a beer or a fruity drink or three. I just have to be aware and know in advance that I will not order carb-loaded, greasy food from a drive-thru at 3 in the morning.

I am undecided about the Midwest Airline’s chocolate chip cookies. I think I will give in, but only to one. Each way, that is.

Then, when I come back, if I fell off the wagon a little too much, I will go back on strict Phase One for another week, before venturing into Phase Two.

I am officially down 10 pounds according to my scale at home in the morning!!! It has been months since I’ve seen a number like this. And… I am right on the cusp of a breakthrough according to the (probably more correct) scale at the YMCA. In fact, when I go to workout tomorrow at lunch, I might break a barrier. I told myself if I could get below this number, I’d reveal my weight, out here, on the internet, so I can write about my weight loss in real pounds and numbers. I think I’ll do it. Tomorrow!

I am sorry I’ve turned into a diet-crazed person. I’m sure I talk about it to David way too often. But Phase One is such a drastic kick-start, that I just can’t help it. Once my weight loss slows down in Phase Two, I promise I won’t be so obsessed.

The one thing I really do hope is that I will be able to see my weight loss. I can’t tell any difference now. I hope that when I do manage to hit certain weight milestones, I will be able to see it when I look in the mirror. I don’t want to lose 30 pounds and still see my same fat body in the mirror. I hope that my eyes tell me the truth when it’s there to see. I imagine that, when I can fit comfortably into a size 10 or 12, my eyes will be forced to see the difference, but from what David says, my eyes deceive me (he tells me all the time how beautiful I am- my body included, and I just don’t see it).

I’ve never been a hugely confident person, but I noticed that as my weight grew, my confidence waned. I’ve been banking on feeling more confident and outgoing and more like my old self once I lost the weight. I’ve read horror stories about how people’s emotional state of mind doesn’t change when they get what they think they wanted, whether it be a smaller waistline or bigger boobs. I’m hoping I’m not in the same boat though, because I really am happy with most other areas of my life. I just want to lose the excess weight and feel more confident about who I am. I think I’ll be okay because I really am doing this for myself!

2 Responses to “Just An Entry”

  1. Harmony Says:

    you’ve been tagged!

    take a look at my blog post from today for the rules!

    can’t wait to see what you put!

  2. Erin Says:

    Good job, girl! And yes, you can’t POSSIBLY pass up those Midwest chocolate chip cookies!

Leave a Reply

