Fighting The Scale

And winning!

It’s been almost exactly a month since I started South Beach. I cheated quite a bit in Arizona. I tried to follow the diet, but my options were often limited and I had to go out drinking one night with my cousin. Oh, and I HAD to share that piece of cheesecake with her. That’s girl code. (White chocolate caramel macadamia nut cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory ROCKS, by the way.) And I ate the Midwest chocolate chip cookies.

When I came back, I was up about 3 or 4 pounds from when I left. Not cool! I went back on Phase One with few problems. I had to retrain my brain a little to say NO to all carbs and not say “Well, it’s just one tortilla chip.”

This morning the scale had my new lowest weight. 192. Down 12.5 pounds! And I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror while getting dressed this morning. In profile, my thighs looked thinner. And I think my back fat rolls are smaller! And I buttoned up my somewhat-skinny jeans, which had just been washed (you know how that tightens jeans up) without any trouble. I have a long way to go, but it put a little extra spring in my step this morning.

My gym routine has got to be helping a little. At the very least, it’s not hurting! I’m on a roll. I’ve gone every day at lunch this week. I’ll go today, and I even plan to go tomorrow. It’s like a routine now. I don’t dread it. I just go. 15 minutes can’t do THAT much, but according to my elliptical, I burn 175-200 calories, and that can’t be a bad thing!

I’m going out with some friends tomorrow night and I’m going to have to force myself to stick to the diet. This is really the only time it’s hard to do. When I go out, I want to have a couple girly drinks and order something yummy off the menu. If I feel the need for a drink, I’ll have a bacardi and diet. And we’re going to Tulip, so there’s plenty of meat for me to eat. But it sucks that their bread is so good and you can’t really enjoy hummus with a fork.

On a different note, I made myself an iced coffee for this morning. I brewed some coffee last night and spun it in the blender with some ice cubes, sugar-free french vanilla creamer, and a packet of splenda and stuck it in the fridge overnight. It’s really yummy, but it has given me a headache. The last time I had coffee it gave me the same feeling. These two times it was new coffee that I had just bought. I went cheap and got Foldgers. The other times that I bought coffee recently, I got the Organic, Free Trade bulk coffees. Is it just Foldgers? Or am I suddenly adverse to caffiene? This is weird.

Work is hellish this morning. I can’t wait to work out my frustrations at the gym.

3 Responses to “Fighting The Scale”

  1. Sierra Says:

    Congratulations! You should be really proud of yourself!

    And, 15 minutes of working out is better than zero minutes. 🙂

  2. WD Says:

    Thanks for making me feel worse about my post-SB downward spiral!

  3. julia Says:

    Go, Tasha, Go! You are kicking major ass now.

Leave a Reply

