Diet Food

It’s hardly fair to say that I’m on a diet, when I get to eat delicious food like this salad from Kalyn’s Kitchen. I have taken so many recipes from her blog. And everything has been good!

We added avocado and instead of her directions for basil vinaigrette, we just pureed some basil with olive oil to keep it easy. It is so delicious, and I recommend it to anyone who likes goat cheese. Yum!!

It might look weird, but I swear it’s delicious.

I can only imagine how good it will be when I can use ingredients from my own garden! It’s a porch/patio/balcony/container garden, so we’ll see how it goes.

I stimulated the economy to buy pots, soil, and plants over Memorial Day weekend. Since I had the extra money, we didn’t limit ourselves and bought everything that looked good. This included:

  • 4 Basil plants (3 green and 1 purple)
  • Mint
  • Rosemary
  • Tarragon
  • Thyme
  • Italian Flat-Leaf Parsley
  • 2 “Better Bush” Tomatoes
  • 2 “Early Girl” Tomatoes
  • 3 Grape tomatoes
  • 9 Lettuce (Yes, 9. They came in a package of 9 for like, $3)

Here is everything sitting inside on the dining room table, waiting to be moved outside after a chilly night:

And here is everything outside on my disaster of a balcony. It’s being resided and we were hoping it would be done Memorial Day weekend, but it didn’t happen. But these babies needed to be outside and getting some sun, and this was the only place they could do that. Hopefully this will serve as a nice “BEFORE” picture in a couple weeks when we get the balcony all set up the way we want it.

I can’t wait to get it all cleaned up and useable. It smells heavenly out there. I highly reccommend buying rosemary, if only for that scent! Now if only we could actually get some sunny days and I can manage not to kill anything, it’ll be $120 well spent in a couple of months!!

5 Responses to “Diet Food”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    Your garden is looking very promising. Glad you liked the recipe; that’s one of my very favorite summer foods!

  2. Sierra Says:

    MMM, that salad looks delicious!

    And, your garden looks great! Hopefully it works out. I’m keeping my fingers crossed on mine.

  3. MK Says:

    your garden is looking great. what a happy, awe inspiring blog you have.

  4. CaptainNeeda Says:

    that looks yum

  5. Erin Says:

    Wow, your herbs look beautiful! I need to get me some herbs, darn it.

    And that salad is beautiful. I often think, wow, it sure doesn’t feel like I’m eating healthy because the food I eat is so delicious! If only more people understood how YUMMY and indulgent healthy food can be!

Leave a Reply

