More “Diet” Food

David and I made some delicious food over the weekend. We had plans to have a chicken stirfry combined with THISrecipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen. However, when we stopped by our local grocery store, they did not have Tahini. There’s a Middle Eastern grocery store that would have it, but we weren’t anywhere near there. So we improvised. And it turned out to be AWESOME.

The peanut was really what interested me, and while browsing the Asian food aisle, we came across some Thai Red Curry Paste. We picked that up and a can of unsweetened coconut milk, and headed home.

David made a delicious sauce with our natural peanut butter, coconut milk, and just enough curry paste to give it a slow, sweet burn of an aftertaste. I’m sure there was other stuff in there, but he likes to improvise. I think this sort of sauce lends itself to that.

We had cooked chicken the night before, and I threw strips of that into a big heavy saucepan with some canola and sesame oil to give it a bit of a sear. After it was seared and heated through, I removed it and threw in our veggies- sliced red bell pepper, mushrooms, watercress, and snap peas. I stirfried those and then covered them to let them steam through.

Meanwhile, a big bundle of asparagus was roasting in the oven, according to that recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen. It had been a long, long time since I’d had asparagus, and when I tried a piece to test it’s done-ness, I was rewarded. It was tender and flavorful. I wish I had tried this sooner. I’ve been missing out! Hopefully asparagus will be on sale again soon at our grocery store. When the asparagus was just about done cooking, I took it out of the oven, and tossed it in with the rest of the veggies. We threw in some soy sauce and the chicken and mixed everything together.

We put the stirfry into our bowls and scooped on a generous helping of the peanut sauce. It was awesome! It really brought back memories of Thailand. I had an amazing chicken satay on the beach at Koh Samet. Our peanut sauce was less spicy, but the flavors were all there.

YUMMY!!!

Tonight’s dinner was really simple. We made little mini cheeseburgers and served them over a salad with tomatoes and avocado. We drizzled it with a mustard vinaigrette. It’s a great dressing that we’ll probably use again, and I think it would be a yummy marinade for chicken or fish.

I combined about 3 Tbsp of mustard (I used dijon, because that’s just what I had) and about 2 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. I slowly drizzled in about 1/8 cup of Olive Oil. You can use more or less to taste. That’s it! You can add to it, salt, pepper, herbs, onions, garlic, chives, etc. I kept it simple.

It was a fast, delicious dinner. Like a loaded cheeseburger, but without the bun.

Again, I’m on a diet?!

And that diet is going well. Even with all my, ahem, “distractions,” like booze and “bad” food, I am officially down TWENTY pounds! Over the weekend I hit 185! I celebrated with a gyro and popcorn. It was worth it. I’m really feeling better about myself. It’s nice to see my waist again! I think my goal was 170 by the end of the year. I’m feeling really confident that I will be able to meet that. If I keep this up, I think the chances are good that I will drop even more than that. I am SOOOO happy!!

6 Responses to “More “Diet” Food”

  1. Bria Says:

    GOOD JOB TASH!!! YOU CAN DOO IT!! GO TASH GO TASH!!! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Ginesa Says:

    Great job on the loss!!! The food does so good – but unfortunately my belly doesn’t take well to peanut sauce. :o( Oh well, it still looks tasty!

  3. Mishy Says:

    it’s probably a good thing to not be a picky eater. eating mostly scrambled eggs and cheese gets tiring after a while.

  4. kelly Says:

    what a yummy little burger salad!

  5. Sierra Says:

    OMG, that looks and sounds DELICIOUS! Yum.

    Good job on the weight loss! 🙂

  6. julia Says:

    It looks so yummy, congrats on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

