Dinner Tonight

Tonight I made another recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen. After planning out meals for the next couple of days, those plans got thrown in the garbage when we had other errands to run! So I switched some things around and made a big batch of roasted veggies and Kalyn’s Cucumber and Yogurt salad. It was delicious!

I started by cutting up the following vegetables:
Zucchini
Yellow Squash
“Graffiti” Eggplant
Button Mushrooms
Red Bell Pepper
Vidalia Onion

I threw them into a casserole dish with a couple tablespoons of olive oil and a handful of grape tomatoes. I put the dish into a 350 degree oven for about 25-30 minutes. Time and amount of oil will depend on how many veggies you have.

You could add some cooked sausage or chicken to make it less vegetarian and more “main course,” but I found this completely satisfying as my entree.

While this Cucumber Salad doesn’t necessarily make the perfect compliment to roasted vegetables, it was delicious. I halved the recipe that is on Kalyn’s blog.

Her pictures are better than mine, but I like to take my own as proof! 🙂

It is very dilly, and it’s even better than I thought it would be. I drained my own yogurt for a couple hours. Longer would have been better, but it still worked. I used regular cucumbers too. The feta really makes the salad, in my opinion. I love feta cheese! I think this would also be good with the addition of mint. This reminds me of a cucumber-yogurt salad that my mom makes. Yum! It’s very refreshing, perfect for summer.

These may not be new or groundbreaking recipes, but I highly recommend them. Roasted vegetables are a staple for me, and this cucumber salad will have to be added to the rotation!

4 Responses to “Dinner Tonight”

  1. Kalyn Says:

    So glad you liked the salad, and I agree completely about the mint! I actually had that thought when I was eating it too.

  2. CaptainNeeda Says:

    your roasted veggies look so good. I’m trying to eat less meat.

  3. Andrea Says:

    Yummy!! I love love love roasted vegetables!

  4. Ginesa Says:

    My god, how do you take such fabulous photos of food?!

    I really have to stop looking on your blog when I’m hungry. :o)

Leave a Reply

