Some Stuff and That Other Stuff

I have been MIA for over a week! Don’t fret, dear blog, I still love you.

It has not been for lack of STUFF to write about, but rather too much STUFF! Also, I like to include pictures as my documentation, and I have weeks worth of pictures still on my camera. I have had no time to upload and edit them! I am weeks behind on my Flickr 365, too!

I have been busy busy busy for the last several days. Most, if not all, of it has been a lot of fun stuff, so I can’t complain. However, I am really looking forward to sitting at home tonight, all alone, with nothing to do!!

And by nothing, I mean I will probably do the following:

  • Upload and edit all (or at least some) of my photos
  • Update my Flickr
  • Watch TV on whatever channels my TV decides to pick up
  • Do some blogging, with aforementioned pictures
  • Call my friend who I haven’t talked to in a couple weeks
  • Call my sister who is coming home next week
  • Call my cousin who is coming to visit in two weeks
  • Call my other cousin who wants to get together in Madison to discuss wedding and bridesmaid dresses for her wedding
  • Clean

So really, I won’t be doing much laying around. Or, I’ll shirk all those details and just lay around. I at least have to call my sister and my friend. I’m not really a phone person, but when I get into it, conversations can be LONG.

I should have invited my high school buddies over, because I haven’t seen most of them in several weeks. But I really need this time to recharge. Also, I just remembered that Riverflicks starts tonight. It would be pretty fun to go see The Wizard of Oz with friends, but NO, I need a night to just take it easy!

Last Saturday I finally saw Mamma Mia, and I loved it!! It was cute and so much fun! I do not believe it’s a movie that everyone could enjoy, however. I love Abba, musicals, and I’ve seen Mamma Mia live twice. It’s full of cheesiness and fluff, and that’s why I liked it. I thought it was well cast, though not perfect. While I believe Meryl Streep can do little wrong, she wasn’t perfect. Her voice didn’t truly wow me until “The Winner Takes it All,” which gave me chills. Pierce Brosnan’s voice didn’t wow me at all. I think they’re both good enough actors, however, that they made it work. I thought Amanda Seyfried (from Mean Girls!!!!) was right on as Sophie, and her voice was beautiful. I liked Julie Walters as Rosie, better than Christine Baranski as Tanya, though the “Does Your Mother Know” sequence was pretty great.

I love the music so much, that I was disappointed that they cut out a couple of the songs. They did play “Thank You For the Music” over the credits. I don’t blame them for cutting out songs, but I do blame them for adding “When All Is Said and Done” to the end of the movie. That was my least favorite part, tied with the overuse of the slow-motion shot. I am happy that they included the snorkel/flipper dance. In the stage version, that opens the second act with the song “Under Attack.” That song was cut out, but there were still dudes dancing in flippers to the song “Lay All Your Love On Me.” Funny!

Now that I’m done with my Abba freakout, let me talk about my weight and diet… I have not lost a single pound in about three weeks. I had that realization the other night. BAD!! It’s not some freak occurrence. No, it’s my own doing. I have not been following South Beach as well as I should be and now it’s kicking me in my big butt. To my credit, I have not GAINED, but that is not good enough for me right now. I KNOW I can do this, and I’m not giving up this easily!!

I am still usually good when it comes to meals, even while dining out. It’s the between meal snacking that has been my downfall lately. On Saturday I made TWO batches of these delicious brownies, one to take to the beach with my friends on Sunday, and one for David to take to his show. And then Tuesday night I made another batch for a Warped Cast Clue meeting on Wednesday. I not only felt compelled to try each batch, but ate the crumbs, leftovers, etc.

The meeting on Wednesday brought on all kinds of bad food. Kringle, cookies, brownies, YUM! I love junk food, and it was like I couldn’t stop myself from eating more and more. I went a little nuts. At least my brownies were natural ingredients (ie- real sugar and fats!), but I was dangerously addicted to these Keebler Elf fudge-filled cookies. They were like crack.

I have stepped up my exercise in the past couple weeks. I’m back in the habit of going at lunch. It feels great and it makes my workday move faster. That’s probably why I haven’t gained. But hovering around 180 for three weeks does NOT feel good.

I need to take a step back this weekend and really think about what I’m doing. I need to refocus myself, just like I did with my exercise. I need to NOT cheat for a while. Just like the South Beach book says, if you start out with a cheat here or there, that’s fine, but you can’t let one cookie on a Friday night progress to pizza on Saturday and Sunday followed by big bowls of ice cream on Monday and Tuesday. I need to remind myself of that and really work on sticking to the diet. I’m going to go back to Phase One for at least a week to get back into the swing of things. I’m okay with allowing myself a treat on the weekends, but I can’t turn the entire weekend into a free-for-all and I REALLY can’t let it spill over into the week.

I’m 25 pounds down and at have least another 30 to go. My goal for the end of the year was 170. My goal time for 150 is next summer. I have faith in myself that I can blow those goals out of the water!

David closes his show this weekend, and even though it looks like we’ll have a busy rest of the summer, I am planning on some quality enjoyment time. Bring it on, August!!

Leave a Reply

