Numb Numb

I’m home from my root canal. I survived. But it was terrifying. I have never seen so many dental tools moving in and out of my mouth. My claustrophobia and fear of suffocating really flared up at times. I was just stuck in that tiny chair. As of now, I have no pain. The most painful part was getting poked and shot up with Novocain. Except for that, all I could feel was pressure and movement.

The drills were awful, like nails on a chalkboard. I could tell they were INSIDE my tooth, and they made this horrible high pitched grinding noise. Sometimes some really awful tastes got into my mouth. One was almost like drinking bleach and felt like it was burning my throat. Another one was incredibly bitter, like if you tried to chew up a tablet of Advil, only 20 times worse. I don’t know if that’s supposed to happen, but it’s not like I could talk and ask what was up.

I was upset that I had to pay for it all right there. I had a little flyer from my dentist that said I would be billed for the remaining balance after my insurance copay. I was not prepared to pay $260 right now!! Ouch!! I had to put it on my credit card, which makes me very unhappy. I’m not sure how much my crown will cost, but I hope my dentist will send me a bill for that, because it’ll take me a while to get all that money together.

For now, I will lay on the couch and suffer with my stroke face. I’m not in pain yet, but I’m starting to feel more and more sore. I hope I feel better by tomorrow. I am dangerously low on vacation time.

7 Responses to “Numb Numb”

  1. Katherine Says:

    The whole situation is sucky. Sorry! But I completely feel your pain. Well, not physically, but you know. I’ve been through more than my fair share of dental procedures. I take amazing care of my teeth, but it never fails that I have a cavity (at the very least). I’ve had 2 crowns–on the same tooth, don’t ask. And I also get claustrophobic and have a fear of suffocating! Not fun in that chair at all! So I completely get where you’re at right now.

  2. WD Says:

    I forgot about the shot in the roof of your mouth. That sucks! I’m glad I didn’t inform you of that earlier.

  3. Sierra Says:

    Glad to hear you survived it. I don’t envy you one bit. I’m sorry!

    I take my ipod with me to the dentist. I feel that it helps block out the sounds of the drills and other horrid noises.

  4. Ginesa Says:

    It will feel better soon, hon! I recommend trying to ice the sides of your jaw too – that will help.

  5. julia Says:

    Dude, I had to get an emergency root canal and a crown a few years ago. And I don’t want to freak you out, but I am pretty sure the stupid crown is the really expensive part. I just remember getting the bill for both the procedure and the crown and almost fainting….even after the insurance. But seriously, it’s worth it. And it’s all over now!

  6. mormonsoprano Says:

    OW! It makes me feel pain just reading your description! Glad it is all over

  7. Jonathan Says:

    I’ve had 6 of them in total and I agree they are absolutely horrendous, stroke face included. You’re over the worst now which is good. I had to have a tooth out late last year, the first such event in 25 years and the figure of 8 movement they make with the pliers to loosen it has me feeling ill just thinking about it. I was unfortunate to be one of the 5% of patients who gets a dry socket after treatment so that was particularly unpleasant.

Leave a Reply

