There Goes My Political Career

Not like I really wanted one.

As I’ve mentioned on here before, I’m part of The Warped Cast, which is kind of an offshoot of our local Rocky Horror Picture Show cast, Sensual Daydreams. If you’ve never seen Rocky Horror at the Oriental Theater at midnight, it’s kind of hard to explain. It’s called “shadow casting” and it involves a group of people “acting” out a movie while it’s playing on the big screen. Why? I don’t really know. Usually it’s done with ridiculous movies and it’s like a way to act out and mock all the dumb-ass-ery that the movie entails.

The cool thing is that it has introduced me to some crazy people that I now call my friends.


(Yes, I had been drinking.)

In our most recent production of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, I played the very boring, very lame Mrs. Bucket. While the Rocky Horror group is all about “screen accuracy,” we are more about making sure our audiences just have a great time. There aren’t “call back” lines for these movies like there are for Rocky Horror, so we have to make our own funnies.

I’m sure you’re all familiar with the terrible, horrible, boring song “Cheer Up Charlie,” and if you’re not, it’s probably because you’re like 98% of the population who fast-forwarded that part of the movie when you watched it. Needless to say, we couldn’t have two minutes and thirty seconds of awfulness fill the theater during this part of the movie, so we all brainstormed ways to make it better.

It sure was better. Lets just say I did a sort of “special dance” while pretending to sing the song. Audiences went from chanting “fast forward” to cheering. It worked.

It’s on You Tube. I vaguely remember someone saying they recorded it, and I vaguely remember agreeing to allow it to be put on the internets. But today was the first time I thought to look for it, and the first time I saw myself acting a fool. I shook my head in shame, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t laugh.

I’m not going to link it here, but if you’re truly curious, I have given you enough info to find it on your own. But then you can’t blame me for watching it. Okay, it’s really not that bad, and there’s no nudity or anything like that, so get your minds out of the gutter.

And on that note, come see our production of CLUE at midnight on September 26th or 27th.

One Response to “There Goes My Political Career”

  1. Richard Whackman Says:

    Yes, I ‘ve seen that shadow acting thing at Rocky Horror showings. I have to say that I love the soundtrack. I used to find myself belting out some of those songs after I’d had a few drinks. Very entertaining stuff. So which one are you in the photo?

Leave a Reply

