Dreams

First off, I’m not going to forget to do this. I was given my second blog award (I am totally lame and forgot to blog about the first one) by Ginesa.

I have to thank her, because if anyone’s blog is encouraging, it’s hers! We found each other, thanks to the internets, and have enjoyed cheering each other on in our weight loss journeys. She is doing GREAT! Not only is she losing weight, but she’s training for a race and doing a kickass job on her runs. Plus she has an adorable daughter who just turned one, and posts pictures often. Yay babies!!

Okay, now that I have remembered to write about that…

I had a dream a couple months ago about a bakery. I’m unclear as to whether I owned it, or was just a customer. It could best be described as a dessert bar. It was decked out in black and pink and had a modern, yet whimsical and a not-too-girly feeling to it. Kind Alice-in-Wonderland-ish. It was in a part of town that was part nightlife/part college area. Although it happened to look just like this street of gay bars that I visited in Thailand.

There were big comfy couches and booths where groups of young adults picked off large trays of gourmet goodies. Fancy versions of youthful desserts like Oreos, Oatmeal Creme Pies, Twinkies, and other treats like cookies and cupcakes. It was like a cafe, where people could come in, hang out, study, work, chat, and eat delicious desserts. Or they could place orders to go. It was cool. And it was open late.

I awoke with the insane urge to open this place.

A couple days after this dream, a coworker talked to me about a thought she had about opening a “Wonka Bar.” She had just seem us perform in “Willy Wonka” and had this idea of opening a bar that served candy-themed drinks. It fit in perfectly with my dessert bar idea. It could be called the “Candy Bar” and could serve all kinds of delicious desserts along with yummy drinks.

Just a couple weeks ago, after dinner with my dad and sister for her 13th birthday, we wanted to go get dessert. I racked my brain for places to get dessert, near downtown. We had just come from a restaurant. We didn’t want to go into another one just to order dessert. Kopp’s custard was far away. We didn’t want to go to a grocery store to get cupcakes and eat them in the car. We settled for gelato from Whole Foods. But eating gelato in a car on the way home was not the perfect way to end the night (though close, because Whole Foods’ gelato is yummy).

I started thinking, does Milwaukee really not have a cool place to go get dessert? Shouldn’t we have one? We have plenty of awesome bakeries, but those require planning and forethought. What if I want to GO OUT for dessert, at 9:00 at night? The closest thing I can think of is at the InterContinental, where you can order up some chocolate truffles or petit fours at $2 a pop. Good, but not quite what I’m looking for.

So now I’ve had this thought, this dream, of opening up a “dessert bar” in Milwaukee. I’m not the best baker, but I would learn. I’m pretty good, and if I had the time, I think I could develop quite a nice talent. But running a bakery? I don’t know… It sounds like a good idea sometimes, but then I think about all the potential problems.

How would I get started? Where would I find money/space? Would I be able to sell stuff? What about equipment? What about health insurance? What about health codes and regulations? What about the potential of financial ruin? What if no one thinks it’s as cool as I do? And so on…

I keep thinking about working towards it, though. Maybe devote my weekends to baking. Learning about it and trying out new recipes. I have a couple friends who own theatres. Maybe they would let me sell some treats on show nights. Maybe I could develop a small following. Maybe I could start a by-order-only business, and then hope for it to grow. Maybe… what if… what about…

I don’t feel like I’m cut out for the 8-5 job that I’m in right now. My creativity is stifeled. I need more. I want more. I deserve more. I wish I could jump into this RIGHT NOW. But I have to step back and think. Maybe I can go to MATC and get my associates business degree. I hear that gives you some good entrepreneurial information, and it wouldn’t take half a lifetime to finish. Maybe in five years, I can really start something. Or maybe in five years I’ll think it’s even more foolish than I do now.

And it’s time for my favorite Disney quote. Belle, from Beauty and the Beast sings,

“I want adventure in the great wide somewhere; I want it more than I can tell. And for once it might be grand to have someone understand, I want so much more than they’ve got planned.”

11 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. Sierra Says:

    If I’m downtown and wanting dessert, the Polaris (revolving restaurant at the Hyatt) is my go-to. Tasty and romantical!

  2. Katherine Says:

    Lixx on Downer has great custard, smoothies and the like. There’s a little bit of indoor and outdoor seating, but it’s really nice to get your dessert and walk around the neighborhood. I used to go there every weekend during high school. Ahh, memories!

  3. kelly Says:

    This has secretly been my dream also for like the past 10 years. Back then I wanted to call it Just Desserts, but I think I could come up with something better now. Sometimes I want a piece of cake too, but I don’t want to sit at Baker’s Square, I want to sit at a cute little cafe type place.

    Have you seen that new place in the village called Le Reve? It is SUPER cute and they have pastries. I was in the area last Saturday and they were still open at around 9 also.

  4. tashamort Says:

    Oh yes, Lixx is delicious. Our original plan was Coldstone Creamery, but it was kind of late and we didn’t want to drive all the way to the East Side. I guess the thing that bothers me is that if you want non-ice-cream/custard dessert, you pretty much have to go to a restaurant. But sometimes I don’t want to go in and sit down and have someone wait on me. Sometimes I want the quick purchase, pay-when-you-order options like frozen custard places. But with cake. That’s really what this is all about. Cake.

  5. Andrea Says:

    I love love love it! I’m all for self employment and entrepreneurship [check out my interests on facebook]. I think you are on to something. It may be a long ways away but if you are interested in really starting this, you should check out http://www.SCORE.com. They are non-profit and offer free counseling to people just like you. I’ve talked to them before since self employment is my dream 🙂

  6. cupcakes Says:

    first, i want you to do this. not because of me, you know i don’t like cake, cupcakes (i know, ironic), or pie, but because you are right. there is nothing specifically like this. sure, lixx is good, but i think it is officially closed now. ice cream has its place, but sometimes you just want a damn good cookie, and c. adams bakery is closed at 8pm. i think you can do this, you just have to find someone you trust, who is into the same concept, that has the smarts to make it through a risk. yes, i am thinking about sandy. if i could bake, i would help a sister out, because i have been wanting to get into the bar/food/service arena without running my own gig, but other then italian sodas and lattes, there isn’t much i can help you with.

    on a side note, mocha has a damn good piece of chocolate cake. at least they used to, and they are open late. while i have been known to go to restaurants just for dessert, i know the feeling of just wanting to go yummy but casual. and be happy your dreams are manageable: last night i dreamt i was flying thanks to the help of legos.

  7. tashamort Says:

    Ohh, thanks for that website Andrea! In all my thinking about this, I just don’t know where to even start. That should help me out a lot, at least to get somewhat of a handle on the logistics.

    Cristina, if this could somehow be a dessert + alcohol bar, you could mix drinks! Of course, that’s wayyy down the line, so don’t hold out for that job offer 🙂
    AND OF COURSE Sandy might be interested. I will have to talk to her soon. Or maybe she’ll read this. HI SANDY! You like to bake… 🙂
    It’s been forever since I’ve been to Mocha, but the thought of good chocolate cake is enough to make me go again. And, um, flying legos…? At least it sounds exciting!

  8. Bria Says:

    only have a moment but that sounds like a great idea!! I really hope this happens… cause i would eat there.. just come back to eat there in fact…
    oh oh and i;ll be back in w on dec 25 and leaving jan 5 so we have to have time!!!

  9. PTG Says:

    You have totally made me just crave cake.

    And cookies.

    And brownies.

    And basically anything that’s baked and yummy and totally NOT in my neighborhood, darn you!

    I love your idea. And I would totally love to help you on the graphics side of thing, but that is way ahead of what you’re talking about and you’re probably just as creative as I am (ok, moreso) anyway!

    And you’re welcome for the blog award. You rock. (And the oh-so-nice stuff you wrote too? Big huge thank you. It really brightened my day!)

  10. Sandy Says:

    I’ve been way behind on your blog, so sorry I’m so late to the party here (although stina did mention it to me.) I do like to bake, but I don’t think I’ll ever be good enough to make up my own recipes. I think you are that good though – you just need training and practice.

    And I would TOTALLY be down for this. I don’t know where we’d get the money and there’d be a good chance it would fail, since so many restaurants do, but wouldn’t it be FUN? There is a new group focused on entrepreneurship that just started: bizstarts.com. I’ll get some more info from work (since apparently what I do this week is get people this kind of info.)

  11. Adrian Says:

    I see this was an older post, but i just saw this blog you should check out Cafe Luna – it’s in the 3rd Ward and it’s just dessert and drinks with music.

Leave a Reply

