Weekend Bits

I’ll have to do a crazy picture post soon, but in the meantime, there are two things I just had to get out.

I got an oil change and a headlight replaced for $28 on Friday night. I kind of hated to play into the dumb girl flirty thing at Scrub-a-Dub, but it just happened. Not only did this nice guy give me $6 off, even though I forgot my coupon, but he “forgot” to charge me for the headlight. When he noticed his mistake, I said he could ring it back up and I’d pay for it, but he decided not to. Well, I’m not going to argue with that!

However, this one dude gave me his number. Yes. For real. I was mortified. His name was Tommie. And it came with an explanation. He lives with his sister and he “doesn’t have a phone right now, and it’s her home number, so if a girl picks up, that’s who it is.” But I can just ask for him.

Can you even believe that I didn’t leap out of the car and jump his bones right then and there?!?!!! My willpower must be STRONG, because I was somehow able to resist.

You know what though, props to him for being brave and taking a chance. He did say something along the lines of “I’m just giving it to you in case… you don’t have to call. I won’t be hurt” so I don’t feel too guilty. But seriously dude, get your life together before you go trying to pick up chicks!

So even though I was embarrassed as all hell, I told David. And he in turn told his dad and his friend. Now they would like me to be in charge of getting their oil changed too. Good lord.

Also, David gave me a present!! We’re so bad at waiting to give each other gifts. I guess he bought this for my birthday or Christmas, but was itching to give it to me. It’s from a used bookstore, so I don’t feel too bad. Plus it’s awesome, and I can definitely use it well before the holidays.

It’s this cute cookbook called Sweet Miniatures.

I’ve been reading it since he gave it to me, and it looks awesome! I can’t wait to make one of the recipes. If my Pick N Save has rice flour, I’ll make the “Shortbread Cameos” this week! It’s all about tiny desserts. Tartlets, petit fours, mini cookies, and other “one bite” desserts. It’s awesome! Plus she has a great introduction about some of the logistics and science and techniques of baking. I’m fascinated. I’ve been cupcake crazy lately, so I can’t wait to dive in to some new recipes!

7 Responses to “Weekend Bits”

  1. Sierra Says:

    Aw, poor Tommie. Gotta give the man props for trying! 🙂

    What a great gift from DCD! Your baking thing is really going to take off. I just know it.

  2. Andrea Says:

    Aww..Tasha..did you really pass up that guy?!?! He sounds like one in a million..LOL.

  3. Bria Says:

    man i miss you so much… and actually working at the hobby story i get alot of that myself.. yeah for being a hot gamer chick… WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE… enjoy the book… i hope to get to sample your wears some time… (is that the right wears… i dont even know)

  4. Sandy Says:

    Wares. (Sorry – my aunts an English teacher.)

    What does DCD stand for?

    Dave showed me that book and told me it was for Christmas and that he couldn’t wait to give it to you. SOME WILLPOWER DAVE! But what a great book.

    Have you ever been to Not Martha? It’s a great blog about lots of stuff, and I think you would appreciate her baking, especially when she was on a mini dessert kick. Check out her tiny pies, itty bitty cupcakes and tiny donuts.

  5. tashamort Says:

    Oooh, Sandy those links are awesome!! I know what I’m doing today instead of working!

    DCD stands for Drama Club Dave. Some of my friends have taken to calling him that. Even I have been drawn into it. Fortunately, David just laughs 🙂

    Bria, darling, I will bake plenty of yummies for you to sample when you’re in town!!

  6. cupcakes Says:

    i am happy that you have a new book in your library, though i am dismayed at the thought of giving a christmas present before halloween. where are dave’s priorities as a kaye!?

    now, post your pics, woman.

  7. MSOJ from back in the day Says:

    Hmmmmmmm, I don’t know that I want my one-time ‘project’ to be “embarrassed as hell” that someone boldly offered his number that way.

    It isn’t as if he somehow knew that you were already spoken-for, so he wasn’t exactly a bad person for having been so forward. Furthermore, he didn’t “ask” for yours, so he wasn’t intrusive.

    You did well when seeing after the fact that he deserved credit for having been so brave, but it shouldn’t have been embarrassing to share it at home.

    All in all you continue to do very well for yourself, and I am certain the 17/18 -year-old you would be quite impressed to see where you are at age 24.

    Keep on rockin’ in the free world!

    – msoj

Leave a Reply

