It’s Me Again

Am I too talkative lately? It’s probably because work is insane right now and I’m training on new stuff, and in my few spare moments, I just bubble over with thoughts.

Right now, it’s about how my dad is awesome.

When I had to buy a “new” car last year, he helped me out with a loan. My bank’s loan wouldn’t cover the cost of the car, and combined with my own money, I was still down about $1,000. So he covered the rest of it. I’ve been SLOWLY paying him back via “his bank” of no interest. $50 a month, which was really nice and easy for me to handle. Things were fine until my major dental bills of late. Suddenly I realized I hadn’t paid him in three months and was quite broke in all my accounts. He had talked about helping me with the bills for my root canal and crown, and so finally I confessed that I was struggling and didn’t know what to do.

He said don’t worry about the car. We “argued” about it for a few minutes, but he wasn’t having any of my protests. He told me to forget about the money I owed him and to use that to pay off my dental bills. Amazing.

Today I got an e-mail from him, asking about plans around my birthday. Nothing has really been talked about yet, and I told him so. He told me to keep my birthday afternoon open. He says that if the stock market goes up, he will have some extra money and wants to take me shopping. WHHEEEEEE!

That would be so much fun! I could really use a couple high quality pieces, like a good sweater and a great going-out shirt. And I have no work pants that fit me well right now.

And if that’s not motivation to drop another size by my birthday, then I don’t know what is. Guess who’s going to be going to the gym ever day at lunch from now on!!

2 Responses to “It’s Me Again”

  1. tashamort Says:

    Oh, and note to self, I also need a new “work” skirt. I’ve been wearing the same elastic-waisted one since 11th grade. It even has a couple tiny holes in it. Hot.

  2. PTG Says:

    Oh, to have the luxury…color me jealous. :o)

    I went the other day to buy a few pants to fit (since very precious few actually do right now) and ended up spending $100. A HUNDRED! While this is not a lot of money to some people out there, I was not planning on purchasing such things. However, in defense, I got two pairs of work pants, a pair of jeans, a long-sleeve t-shirt, and a sweater. Which makes me feel a little better…until I figure out that I still spent $100. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

