So I Say It’s My Birthday

Because it is.

I’ve been so busy that I’ve hardly found time to get excited about it. Normally I’m bouncing off the walls because all I can think is, OMG BIRTHDAY!!!!

December came on so fast, and it made me realize that now November is over and I missed the birthdays of one of my BFFs and my cousin’s baby. Sigh, I suck.

I think I keep forgetting it’s my birthday. So I’m going to keep reminding myself. Because of all the days in the year, I should feel special and happy today. But dragging myself out of bed and into work at 7am is not ideal. Fortunately I get to leave at 11 and go to lunch at an as-of-yet undisclosed location with my dad. It’ll be somewhere downtown, so it’s got to be good. Then he’s taking me shopping at that East Towne Women’s Resale shop in the Third Ward. I love that place. They have such awesome stuff. Usually their best stuff is pretty small, but if I can’t find some beautiful clothes, I know I can find some kind of cool, vintage-y accessory. And if not, my dad says I just get the cash. 😉

I made cupcakes last night to take to rehearsal tonight. Vanilla brown butter. YUM. I was in a rush, and my eggs may have curdled a bit. I tried one, and it still tastes good, but I was pissed. I just wanted to bake one yummy thing, and I didn’t even have time. I’m going to whip up a chocolate buttercream at my mom’s house this afternoon. Hopefully after today I won’t have to rely on her mixer anymore!

I did get a pair of silicone presents from David this morning. Haha, I just wanted to say it like that. I got a Sil-Pin silicone rolling pin and a Sil-Pat baking mat! The rolling pin is pink! I’m super grateful for the Sil-Pat, because there are a couple recipes that I’m looking at that specifically call for it’s use. And while I could probably get away with some combination of parchment paper and tin foil, this will be so much easier. Do you have any idea how much parchment paper I’ve gone through in the past couple months? It’s a little obscene.

So, I’m 24. It’s going to take me awhile to get used to saying that, because it was just a couple months ago that I couldn’t remember if I was 22 or 23. I know 24 is still pretty young, but I am of course plagued with how far along I “should be” in life. I mean, I could be about 1/3 done with my life right now! Okay, that’s just scary and might make me puke or cry.

I’ve been PMS-y all week which has put me into an awful emotional state. I’ve cried a lot, over nothing at all. And yet I feel like I need to cry some more! I can’t wait to have those birth control hormones coursing through me once again. </end random rant>

So as much as today sucks for having to work, even 4 hours, I am full of anticipation for tonight and this weekend. My mom is making me dinner and cake (CAKE!!!!!!!!!!!) and tomorrow I get to dress up for my work Christmas party, and then meet friends for martinis. And on Saturday David and I will FINALLY get our Christmas tree and do some decorating. And I get to have dinner at Cubanitas and drink all the mojitos I want.

I’m glad I wrote this. Now I’m feeling all happy happy joy joy. YAY BIRTHDAYS!

PS. A happy birthday shout-out to my favorite people to share a birthday with me, Jeff and Greg. Is it a little strange that David, and his sister Sandy, are both with people who were born on December 11th? As if this time of year wasn’t crazy enough. Also, I’m sorry to all who have to come up with birthday and Christmas gifts in such rapid succession.

9 Responses to “So I Say It’s My Birthday”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a good one. It sounds like you’ll be getting some great gifts.

  2. WD Says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!1111111!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Katherine Says:

    Happy Birthday!! Hope you get some awesome stuff and have a great day 🙂

  4. julia Says:

    Happy bday, youngin!

  5. PTG Says:

    HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

  6. cupcakes Says:

    while you whoop it up with martinis, we will be diving it in stallis with darts and pizza. too bad i got confused this morning and dressed for the high life when i could have gotten away with snow boots. oh well. i wear my dress and heels for thee.
    have fun tonight, and tomorrow, and sunday, and the rest of your 25th year of existance. i messed it up a lot, but i loved 24.

  7. Sandy Says:

    OMG, Tasha I totally forgot to call you on your big day and wish you a happy birthday! I’m such a bad friend. If it makes you feel better, I didn’t remember to wish the guy I live with a happy bday until he dropped me off at work.

    You’ll have to tell me how the sil-pat works! I got a generic one once and it totally sucked. It would bubble up under my cookies!

    How far along you are? Dear, you’re so far ahead of the rest of us if we’re talking baking skills and shoes (well, cristina might have you beat, but she has had more time…)

    I spent 24 being uber-responsible. It has it’s perks, I suppose, but learn from my mistakes and make 24 the year of fun! (oops…I also got married that year – I wasn’t calling THAT a mistake!)

  8. cupcakes Says:

    yes, but i also GO through shoes faster. i have worn holes through many a soles – of shoes, not just men.

  9. MSOJ from back in the day Says:

    Don’t you dare get ‘silicone presents’ of the other variety!!!

    OMG – nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo !!!!

Leave a Reply

